Seeking Qualified Applicants for Canton Home

This existing 4-bedroom, 2-bath twin home was built by Habitat in 2015. We are seeking a qualified applicant to help rehab and purchase this home in 2021, through the Homeownership Program.

Who is eligible to apply?

Anyone who has been living or working in Minnehaha, Lincoln or Turner County for the past 12 months AND is a permanent legal resident or citizen of the U.S.A.

How do I get an application?

Applications closed on Wednesday, March 31. The next opportunity to apply for Habitat’s Homeownership program will be in June 2021.

Deadline to apply?

Completed applications must be received at the Habitat office by close of business on March 31, 2021.

What is the timeline for selection?

Applications will be processed promptly by Habitat staff and the Family Selection Committee. The goal is to make selection decisions by May 31, 2021.

Who is eligible for selection?

Qualified applicants must meet income guidelines AND the Habitat selection criteria for:

  1. Need
  2. Ability to pay
  3. Willingness to partner

How soon can I purchase this home?

This home was originally constructed in 2015. It is currently undergoing rehab work that will be completed by summer 2021. Before the home can be purchased, the selected homebuyer must complete all sweat equity and partnership requirements. Completion of sweat equity hours will include work in Sioux Falls on other Habitat construction sites.

How does the program work?

Habitat is the builder, the seller, and the lender for the real estate transaction. Homes are sold for appraised market value. Habitat finances the sale with affordable home loan(s). Homes are built or rehabilitated using a combination of skilled and unskilled labor, under the supervision of the Habitat construction team. Habitat ensures that the house payment is affordable for the buyer, based on Habitat’s affordability parameters.

Go to Homeownership Program

Equal Housing Opportunity

Habitat does not discriminate on the basis of race, sex, color, age, handicap, religion, family status, national origin, source of income, or exercise of rights under the Consumer Credit Protection Act.